Skip to content

Market Research

Who Is Advertising on ChatGPT: Every Confirmed Advertiser, Tracked

Published October 22, 2026

OpenAI started showing ads in ChatGPT in February 2026 as an invitation-only pilot with large brands and their agencies. Eight months later the company says more than 100,000 advertisers have run campaigns, and on October 21 it extended ads to 89 countries. Small businesses buying through OpenAI's self-serve Ads Manager now make up a large share of that total, while the big brands tend to arrive through agency holding companies and ad tech partners.

Our analysts built a tracker of every advertiser that a company, an agency, OpenAI or a credible trade publication has publicly confirmed as running ads on ChatGPT, from the February 9, 2026 pilot through October 22, 2026. Each brand was checked against the press release, case study or article that confirmed it and classified by category, market, first reported date and the route it took onto the platform. The tracker holds 63 confirmed advertisers in eight countries, 26 of them in the US. Financial services and insurance is the largest category, with 8 brands, and none of them is in the US.

In the following sections, we show how the advertiser count has grown, list every confirmed big-brand advertiser in the US and abroad, break the list down by category and by how each brand got onto ChatGPT, collect public accounts from smaller businesses that advertise there, and set our tracker beside the industry shares that third-party ad libraries have recorded.

How Many Advertisers Are on ChatGPT

OpenAI does not publish a running list of advertisers, so the count comes from occasional company statements and analyst estimates. Each figure below is as its source reported it.

Who Is Advertising on ChatGPT: Reported Advertiser Counts, March to October 2026
Who Is Advertising on ChatGPT: Reported Advertiser Counts, March to October 2026
DateAdvertisers ReportedReported BySource
March 26, 2026More than 600OpenAI spokespersonCNBC
May 5, 2026More than 1,000 (through Criteo only)CriteoPPC Land
June 22, 2026More than 2,000 (through Criteo only)CriteoCriteo
Aug. 31, 2026About 20,000 (end of August)New Street ResearchMarTech
Aug. 31, 2026Tens of thousandsOpenAIOpenAI
Oct. 5, 2026About 60,000 (early October)New Street ResearchMarTech
Oct. 21, 2026More than 100,000 have run campaignsOpenAIOpenAI
  • The count rose from more than 600 advertisers in late March, when ads ran only in the US, to more than 100,000 by October 21. OpenAI's October figure counts every advertiser that has run a campaign since launch, so it is a cumulative total rather than the number active on any one day.
  • New Street Research estimated about 20,000 advertisers at the end of August and about 60,000 in early October, a threefold rise in roughly five weeks. That jump followed the launch of ads in 31 European countries on August 24 and in India on August 27, both with self-serve access soon after.
  • OpenAI said on August 31 that small and medium businesses had been a material share of its advertisers since Ads Manager opened in May. The agency pilots that brought in the big brands involved a few dozen clients each, so most of the growth to six figures came through self-serve buying and ad tech partners.
Who Is Advertising on ChatGPT: Reported Advertiser Count, 2026

Big Brands Advertising on ChatGPT in the US

The tracker lists 26 US advertisers. 16 of them were confirmed in February, during the invitation-only pilot, and the rest came mostly from OpenAI's customer stories, its September announcement of Sponsored Agents, an ad format that opens a conversation with the advertiser's own AI agent, and Amazon Ads' pilot. The last column shows how many of each brand's ads appeared in GPT Ad Library's US capture of October 3 and 4, 2026, a third-party observation explained below.

Confirmed US Advertisers on ChatGPT, February to October 2026
Confirmed US Advertisers on ChatGPT, February to October 2026
First ReportedAdvertiserCategoryHow ConfirmedAgency or PartnerAds Seen, GPT Ad Library (Oct. 3 to 4)Source
Feb. 9, 2026Adobe (Acrobat Studio, Firefly)Business software and servicesAdobe joined the pilot as a partner and runs ads with its agency WPPWPP10MediaPost; The Verge
Feb. 9, 2026Target (incl. Roundel brand partners)RetailTarget fact sheet on its ChatGPT ad testRoundel (Target's retail media business)29Target
Feb. 11, 2026Audemars PiguetLuxury and jewelryWPP Media pilot clientWPP MediaNot seenThe Verge; MediaPost
Feb. 11, 2026AudibleMedia and entertainmentWPP Media pilot clientWPP Media12The Verge; MediaPost
Feb. 11, 2026FordAutomotiveWPP Media pilot client in the US and GermanyWPP MediaNot seenThe Verge; MediaPost; WPP Media Germany
Feb. 11, 2026HelloFreshGrocery and meal kitsReported by The Verge from a LinkedIn postNot disclosedNot seenThe Verge
Feb. 11, 2026MazdaAutomotiveWPP Media pilot clientWPP MediaNot seenThe Verge; MediaPost
Feb. 11, 2026Mrs. Meyer's Clean DayHousehold and packaged goodsWPP Media pilot clientWPP MediaNot seenThe Verge; MediaPost
Feb. 11, 2026Williams-SonomaHome and home improvementSaid it would run ChatGPT adsNot disclosedNot seenThe Verge; MediaPost
Feb. 12, 2026Albertsons CompaniesGrocery and meal kitsPress release on joining the ad pilotNot disclosedNot seenAlbertsons Companies
Feb. 18, 2026KrogerGrocery and meal kitsSaid it would run ChatGPT adsNot disclosedNot seenMediaPost
Feb. 18, 2026The Knot WorldwideConsumer servicesCompany spokesperson confirmed its adsNot disclosedNot seenMediaPost; ADWEEK
Feb. 19, 2026Best BuyConsumer electronics and techOpenAI spokesperson; Best Buy confirmed; listed again by OpenAI in SeptemberNot disclosed183ADWEEK; OpenAI
Feb. 19, 2026Enterprise MobilityTravel and hospitalityOpenAI spokesperson; Enterprise confirmedNot disclosedNot seenADWEEK
Feb. 19, 2026ExpediaTravel and hospitalityOpenAI spokesperson; ads also spotted by AdthenaNot disclosed1,840ADWEEK; MediaPost
Feb. 19, 2026QualcommConsumer electronics and techOpenAI spokespersonNot disclosedNot seenADWEEK
Aug. 17, 2026NeweggConsumer electronics and techOpenAI customer storyNot disclosed15OpenAI
Sept. 1, 2026StreamBusiness software and servicesOpenAI customer storyNot disclosedNot seenOpenAI
Sept. 3, 2026JotformBusiness software and servicesOpenAI customer storyNot disclosed3,005OpenAI
Sept. 3, 2026LegalNatureBusiness software and servicesOpenAI customer storyNot disclosed36OpenAI
Sept. 10, 2026Delta VacationsTravel and hospitalityAmazon Ads pilot participantAmazon Ads (Amazon DSP)Not seenAmazon Ads
Sept. 16, 2026AngiHome and home improvementSponsored Agents pilot; OpenAI customer storyNot disclosed1,004Angi; OpenAI; AI Weekly
Sept. 16, 2026Lowe'sHome and home improvementListed by OpenAI as an early advertiserNot disclosed179OpenAI; AI Weekly
Sept. 16, 2026VistaPrintBusiness software and servicesListed by OpenAI as an early advertiserNot disclosed1,702OpenAI; AI Weekly
Sept. 16, 2026WayfairHome and home improvementSponsored Agents pilot, at limited scaleNot disclosed770OpenAI; AI Weekly
Sept. 22, 2026TalkpalEducationOpenAI customer storyNot disclosed209OpenAI
  • Retail, grocery and big consumer brands dominated the February pilot: Target, Albertsons, Kroger, Williams-Sonoma and the WPP Media clients Ford, Mazda, Audible, Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day and Audemars Piguet. Omnicom said it had placed more than 30 clients in the pilot without disclosing who they were.
  • The brands confirmed since August lean toward software, home services and online retail, such as Jotform, LegalNature, Stream, Angi, Wayfair, Lowe's and VistaPrint. All 9 of those confirmed by OpenAI after the pilot came from its own customer stories or its September advertiser list.
  • 13 of the 26 US brands appeared in GPT Ad Library's October capture. Jotform, Expedia, VistaPrint and Angi each had more than 1,000 ads shown, while several February pilot brands, including Ford, Kroger and Albertsons, did not appear, which suggests their pilot campaigns had ended or did not match the questions in that capture. Williams-Sonoma's own site did not appear, but its Pottery Barn brand did, with 183 ads.

Brands Advertising on ChatGPT Outside the US

Outside the US, 37 advertisers have been confirmed across 7 countries, plus Foot Locker Asia Pacific and HP's global ecommerce team. Most were announced by the agencies and ad tech companies that OpenAI appointed as launch partners in each region.

Confirmed Advertisers on ChatGPT Outside the US, April to October 2026
Confirmed Advertisers on ChatGPT Outside the US, April to October 2026
First ReportedAdvertiserMarketCategoryHow ConfirmedAgency or PartnerSource
April 22, 2026L'OréalAustraliaBeauty and personal careReported among the first advertisers in Australia; quoted by OpenAI in OctoberNot disclosedAdNews; OpenAI
May 5, 2026Foot Locker Asia PacificAsia PacificApparel and footwearQuoted in Criteo's ChatGPT ads updateCriteoPPC Land
May 5, 2026PetbarnAustraliaRetailQuoted in Criteo's ChatGPT ads updateCriteoPPC Land
May 5, 2026HPGlobalConsumer electronics and techQuoted in Criteo's ChatGPT ads updateCriteoPPC Land
June 5, 2026HiltonUKTravel and hospitalityDentsu UK launch clientDentsuDentsu UK
June 5, 2026HiscoxUKFinancial services and insuranceDentsu UK launch clientDentsuDentsu UK
June 5, 2026NextUKApparel and footwearDentsu UK launch clientDentsuDentsu UK
June 5, 2026TescoUKGrocery and meal kitsDentsu UK launch clientDentsuDentsu UK
June 30, 2026Club TourismJapanTravel and hospitalityNikkei xTrend case studyNot disclosedNikkei xTrend
June 30, 2026NTT DocomoJapanTelecomNikkei xTrend case studyNot disclosedNikkei xTrend
June 30, 2026PayPay CardJapanFinancial services and insuranceNikkei xTrend case studyNot disclosedNikkei xTrend
June 30, 2026SOMPO Direct InsuranceJapanFinancial services and insuranceNikkei xTrend case studyNot disclosedNikkei xTrend
Aug. 24, 2026Bouygues TelecomFranceTelecomCosmo5 European launch clientCosmo5Cosmo5
Aug. 24, 2026CarrefourFranceGrocery and meal kitsCosmo5 European launch clientCosmo5Cosmo5
Aug. 24, 2026CulturaFranceRetailCosmo5 European launch clientCosmo5Cosmo5
Aug. 24, 2026TotalEnergiesFranceEnergyCosmo5 European launch clientCosmo5Cosmo5
Aug. 24, 2026FotocasaSpainReal estateCosmo5 European launch clientCosmo5Cosmo5
Aug. 24, 2026RepsolSpainEnergyCosmo5 European launch clientCosmo5Cosmo5
Aug. 24, 2026SantalucĂ­aSpainFinancial services and insuranceCosmo5 European launch clientCosmo5Cosmo5
Sept. 1, 2026Mamaearth (Honasa Consumer)IndiaBeauty and personal careCo-founder announced the first Indian brand on ChatGPT adsCriteoStoryboard18
Oct. 6, 2026Axis Max LifeIndiaFinancial services and insuranceCovered by Razorpay's initial ChatGPT Ads agreementRazorpaySocial Samosa
Oct. 6, 2026Bajaj LifeIndiaFinancial services and insuranceAnnounced integration with ChatGPT AdsNot disclosedSocial Samosa
Oct. 6, 2026FastrackIndiaApparel and footwearCovered by Razorpay's initial ChatGPT Ads agreementRazorpaySocial Samosa
Oct. 6, 2026IndusInd BankIndiaFinancial services and insuranceAnnounced integration with ChatGPT AdsNot disclosedSocial Samosa
Oct. 6, 2026NMIMSIndiaEducationCovered by Razorpay's initial ChatGPT Ads agreementRazorpaySocial Samosa
Oct. 6, 2026PalmonasIndiaLuxury and jewelryCovered by Razorpay's initial ChatGPT Ads agreementRazorpaySocial Samosa
Oct. 6, 2026Sattva GroupIndiaReal estateAnnounced integration with ChatGPT AdsNot disclosedSocial Samosa
Oct. 6, 2026SebamedIndiaBeauty and personal careAnnounced integration with ChatGPT AdsNot disclosedSocial Samosa
Oct. 6, 2026Shaadi.comIndiaConsumer servicesCovered by Razorpay's initial ChatGPT Ads agreementRazorpaySocial Samosa
Oct. 6, 2026TanishqIndiaLuxury and jewelryAnnounced integration with ChatGPT AdsRazorpaySocial Samosa
Oct. 6, 2026Tata NeuIndiaRetailCovered by Razorpay's initial ChatGPT Ads agreementRazorpaySocial Samosa
Oct. 6, 2026TrayaIndiaBeauty and personal careCovered by Razorpay's initial ChatGPT Ads agreementRazorpaySocial Samosa
Oct. 6, 2026UnivoIndiaEducationAnnounced integration with ChatGPT AdsNot disclosedSocial Samosa
Oct. 21, 2026Colgate-PalmoliveGermanyHousehold and packaged goodsWPP Media German pilot client, live since late AugustWPP MediaWPP Media Germany
Oct. 21, 2026Henkel (Persil)GermanyHousehold and packaged goodsWPP Media German pilot client, live since late AugustWPP MediaWPP Media Germany
Oct. 21, 2026RTL DeutschlandGermanyMedia and entertainmentWPP Media German pilot client, live since late AugustWPP MediaWPP Media Germany
Oct. 21, 2026Volksbanken RaiffeisenbankenGermanyFinancial services and insuranceWPP Media German pilot client, live since late AugustWPP MediaWPP Media Germany
  • India has the most confirmed advertisers outside the US, with 14. Mamaearth, through Criteo, was the first Indian brand to advertise, and the payments company Razorpay signed an agreement covering nine brands, including Tanishq, Fastrack and Tata Neu.
  • Europe's first wave came through agencies. Cosmo5 said 10 of its clients in France and Spain would launch campaigns in the week of the August 24 launch and identified seven of them, and WPP Media's German pilot clients, Colgate-Palmolive, Ford, Henkel, RTL and the Volksbanken Raiffeisenbanken, have run campaigns since late August.
  • Financial brands are far more common abroad. Banks and insurers such as Hiscox, PayPay Card, SOMPO Direct, SantalucĂ­a, IndusInd Bank and Volksbanken Raiffeisenbanken all advertise outside the US. Our tracker found no US bank or insurer that has announced a ChatGPT campaign, although Capital One, GEICO and New York Life appeared in the third-party capture covered below.

ChatGPT Advertisers by Category

This section groups the 63 confirmed advertisers into 18 categories. Each brand is counted once, in its main line of business.

Confirmed ChatGPT Advertisers by Category, US and Outside the US
Confirmed ChatGPT Advertisers by Category, US and Outside the US
CategoryUSOutside the USTotalShare
Financial services and insurance08812.7%
Business software and services5057.9%
Grocery and meal kits3257.9%
Travel and hospitality3257.9%
Home and home improvement4046.3%
Consumer electronics and tech3146.3%
Retail1346.3%
Beauty and personal care0446.3%
Education1234.8%
Household and packaged goods1234.8%
Luxury and jewelry1234.8%
Apparel and footwear0334.8%
Automotive2023.2%
Consumer services1123.2%
Media and entertainment1123.2%
Energy0223.2%
Real estate0223.2%
Telecom0223.2%
Total263763100.0%
  • Financial services and insurance leads with 8 advertisers, or 12.7% of the tracker, all outside the US. Grocery and meal kits, travel and hospitality, and business software and services follow with 5 each.
  • In the US, business software and services has the most brands, with 5, followed by home and home improvement with 4. The US list has no financial, telecom or energy brand.
  • The pattern matches what the agencies said they were bringing in. WPP Media listed automotive, packaged goods, entertainment, gaming, luxury, retail, technology and travel for its US pilot, and Omnicom listed apparel, automotive, beauty, packaged goods, hospitality, retail, restaurants, technology and telecom.
Confirmed ChatGPT Advertisers by Category

How Advertisers Got Onto ChatGPT: Agencies, Ad Tech Partners and Ads Manager

Big brands reached ChatGPT through three doors: the agency holding companies OpenAI chose as launch partners, ad tech platforms connected to OpenAI's ad system, and direct relationships that OpenAI then publicized. The table counts the confirmed advertisers by the route through which they were first confirmed.

Confirmed ChatGPT Advertisers by How They Were Confirmed
Confirmed ChatGPT Advertisers by How They Were Confirmed
How ConfirmedUSOutside the USTotal
Agency announcement51520
OpenAI13013
Ad tech partner11112
Company statement606
Press report11112
Total263763
  • Agencies announced 20 of the 63 brands, more than any other route: WPP Media (9), Cosmo5 (7) and Dentsu (4). Dentsu, Omnicom, Publicis and WPP were OpenAI's first agency partners, and Havas and MediaPlus joined them for the European launch.
  • Ad tech partners brought in 12 brands, mostly outside the US. Criteo, the first ad tech partner, said more than 2,000 brands were advertising through it by June, and Adobe, Kargo, Pacvue, StackAdapt, Amazon Ads, HubSpot and Shopify have since connected their own tools to ChatGPT ads.
  • Self-serve buying explains the gap between the confirmed list and the six-figure total. OpenAI began rolling out its beta Ads Manager to US businesses on May 5, then opened it in Europe, India and Southeast Asia, and businesses that buy there rarely announce it.

Small Businesses Advertising on ChatGPT

Small businesses make up most of ChatGPT's advertisers but rarely appear in press releases. OpenAI said in August that small and medium businesses were a material share of its advertisers, and Australian media buyers told AdNews in April that about 80% of advertiser interest was reportedly coming from small and midsized businesses. The table lists smaller companies that have said in public that they run ChatGPT ads.

Smaller Businesses That Say They Advertise on ChatGPT
Smaller Businesses That Say They Advertise on ChatGPT
BusinessTypeMarketWhat It ReportedWhere It Said So
Out of the Box AdvisorsSmall-business coaching firmUSRan ChatGPT ad campaigns in July and August 2026 and wrote up the testCompany blog
IndoorMediaIn-store advertising company, HoustonUSRan two campaigns through StackAdapt aimed at restaurant owners and real estate agentsCompany blog, Sept. 2026
Five Stars Auto GlassWindshield repair and replacement shopUSRan one consumer campaign through StackAdapt, managed by IndoorMediaIndoorMedia blog, Sept. 2026
A New York law firm (client not identified)Legal servicesUSRan ChatGPT ads beside Google Ads from June 1 to July 31, 2026 and is increasing its ChatGPT budgetTotem agency case study
Central States MarketingMarketing firmUSRan B2B campaigns in Ads Manager for two clients across Midwestern marketsX post, Oct. 8, 2026
TheeDigitalWeb design and digital marketing agencyNot statedTested ChatGPT ads on its own account and published a video walkthroughX post, Aug. 13, 2026
A Shopify home and kitchen storeOnline retailerNot statedMerchant said it had been running ChatGPT ads for its storeShopify Community, Oct. 15, 2026
SE RankingSEO software companyNot statedRan a ChatGPT ad test and published the resultsX post, Sept. 17, 2026
Latin LaunchDigital marketing agency, VancouverCanadaTesting ChatGPT ads after the Canadian launchX post, Aug. 12, 2026
Bamboo PRB2B PR agency, LondonUKRan a campaign for its data center PR service starting July 23, 2026Company blog
ScrapingBeeWeb scraping software companyFranceLaunched ChatGPT ads on Sept. 2, 2026, the day they opened to French companiesX post by its CEO, Sept. 29, 2026
GrafistaAI design toolGreece, Cyprus, UKRan ChatGPT ads in September 2026Company blog
  • 5 of the 12 businesses are in the US, and most of the list is service firms: a coaching firm, a law firm, an auto glass shop and several marketing agencies. Many of them wrote up their tests to show clients what the channel is like.
  • Several bought through partners rather than OpenAI directly. IndoorMedia and Five Stars Auto Glass used StackAdapt, and the New York law firm's campaigns were run by the agency Totem.
  • OpenAI's own customer stories add a few more smaller software companies to the list, including LegalNature, Jotform, Stream and the language app Talkpal, all of which appear in the US table above.

ChatGPT Advertisers by Industry in Third-Party Ad Libraries

Independent ad libraries record the ads that appear in ChatGPT conversations, which gives a rough view of the advertiser base by industry. The largest, GPT Ad Library, ran 123,613 US conversations on October 3 and 4, 2026 across 20 industries and recorded 118,765 ads from 5,750 advertisers. Each ad appeared after a follow-up message asking for a sponsored ad, so these are third-party observations of who advertised, not a measure of how often ChatGPT shows ads, and the industries are the library's own labels for the questions it wrote.

Advertisers Seen in ChatGPT by Industry, GPT Ad Library US Capture, October 2026
Advertisers Seen in ChatGPT by Industry, GPT Ad Library US Capture, October 2026
IndustryAdvertisers SeenShare of Advertiser Listings
Local Home Services7676.9%
Media & Entertainment7336.5%
Small Business Tools7296.5%
Home Improvement & Appliances6916.2%
Consumer Electronics6706.0%
Education & Careers6505.8%
Business Software6305.6%
Productivity & Creative AI6255.6%
Home Furniture & Decor6145.5%
Sports, Outdoor & Fitness5745.1%
Automotive5575.0%
Travel & Hospitality5524.9%
Insurance5174.6%
IT, Security & Dev Tools4934.4%
Fashion, Apparel & Footwear4924.4%
Pets4514.0%
Food & Grocery Delivery3853.4%
Personal Finance3633.2%
Beauty & Personal Care3523.1%
Telecom & Internet3483.1%
  • Local home services had the most advertisers, 767, followed by media and entertainment (733) and small business tools (729). Each industry received a similar number of conversations, so the spread reflects how many companies bid on those topics.
  • The library saw 2,459 advertisers, or 42.8%, in two or more industries, so the industry counts add up to more than 5,750. Telecom, beauty, personal finance and food delivery had the fewest advertisers, though a few large ones such as Lyca Mobile, NerdWallet and Hungryroot appeared often.
  • The two views differ because they measure different groups. Our tracker covers brands that announced their campaigns, while the library catches the long tail of US advertisers that never issue a press release.
Advertisers Seen in ChatGPT by Industry, GPT Ad Library, October 2026

The library also ranks advertisers by how many of their ads were shown. The table lists the 25 most shown.

Most Shown Advertisers in ChatGPT, GPT Ad Library US Capture, October 3 to 4, 2026
Most Shown Advertisers in ChatGPT, GPT Ad Library US Capture, October 3 to 4, 2026
RankAdvertiserMain IndustryAds Shown
1JotformBusiness Software3,005
2TemuConsumer Electronics2,744
3ExpediaTravel & Hospitality1,840
4VistaPrintSmall Business Tools1,702
5HungryrootFood & Grocery Delivery1,514
6NerdWalletPersonal Finance1,442
7CourseraEducation & Careers1,187
8Lyca Mobile USATelecom & Internet1,033
9AngiLocal Home Services1,004
10EverQuoteInsurance1,002
11L.L.BeanFashion, Apparel & Footwear949
12ThumbtackLocal Home Services888
13GetAppBusiness Software871
14SoFiPersonal Finance845
15TumblePets838
16WayfairHome Furniture & Decor770
17DoorDashFood & Grocery Delivery728
18QuinceFashion, Apparel & Footwear701
19Intuit QuickBooksBusiness Software644
20WhoopSports, Outdoor & Fitness644
21ChewyPets632
22Rocket MoneyMedia & Entertainment594
23IroncladIT, Security & Dev Tools586
24GrouponMedia & Entertainment576
25GEICOInsurance552
  • The top 10 advertisers accounted for 13.9% of the ads shown, the next 90 for 28.1%, and the other 5,650 advertisers for 57.4%. 1,642 advertisers, or 28.6%, appeared in only one conversation.
  • Large brands sit further down the ranking. Nike, The Home Depot, Saks Fifth Avenue, Nordstrom, BMW USA, Capital One and AT&T Mobility all appeared in the library's top 100, each with fewer than 420 ads shown.
  • A second library, ChatGPT Ad Library, counted 2,655 advertisers across 108 niches in July 2026, led by enterprise and fintech, software and productivity, and real estate, and now reports more than 11,000 advertisers observed. Its niche labels are different from GPT Ad Library's, so the two cannot be combined.
Share of Ads Shown in ChatGPT by Advertiser Rank, GPT Ad Library, October 2026

What the ChatGPT Advertiser Base Looks Like Heading Into 2027

ChatGPT's advertiser base now has two layers. A few dozen confirmed big brands, mostly retailers, packaged goods makers, travel companies and, outside the US, banks and insurers, came in through agency pilots and still supply most of the public announcements. Beneath them sit tens of thousands of smaller advertisers buying through Ads Manager, visible mainly in third-party captures and in their own blog posts.

The 2026 holiday season will test whether the big brands stay. Several February pilot brands did not appear in October's third-party capture, while online retailers, software companies and home service marketplaces dominated it. OpenAI has added visual ads in image generation and Sponsored Agents in the US, formats aimed at the kinds of retailers and service marketplaces that already lead the US list.

So if the count keeps growing at the pace of August to October, the next official figure will be dominated even more by small businesses, and the confirmed big-brand list will keep growing mainly as OpenAI enters new countries with agency partners.

Data Collection and Methodology

The Top GEO Agencies research team compiled every advertiser publicly confirmed as running ads on ChatGPT from the start of OpenAI's US ad pilot on February 9, 2026 through October 22, 2026. A brand counts as confirmed when the company itself, its agency or ad tech partner, OpenAI, or a trade publication reporting a company or OpenAI statement said it was advertising or would advertise on ChatGPT. Each row was checked against the source listed, and only sources we could open and read were used. Brands mentioned only in social media posts we could not verify, and Omnicom's more than 30 undisclosed pilot clients, are not counted.

Each advertiser is counted once, under its main category and the market where it was first confirmed; Ford is counted as a US advertiser and is also a WPP Media pilot client in Germany. The first reported date is the date of the earliest source we found. How confirmed records the route of the first confirmation: a company statement, an agency announcement, an OpenAI statement or customer story, an ad tech partner announcement, or a press report. Brands covered by Razorpay's initial agreement in India are listed as announced through that agreement.

The third-party figures come from GPT Ad Library, an independent library operated by Stay Whizzy Inc. that is not affiliated with OpenAI, and from ChatGPT Ad Library. GPT Ad Library's US capture ran 123,613 conversations from October 3 to October 4, 2026, and every recorded ad followed a message asking for a sponsored ad. We checked each US advertiser in our tracker against the library's brand pages on October 22, 2026; a brand with no page is shown as not seen. Advertiser counts in the first table are as reported by OpenAI, Criteo and New Street Research and were not recalculated; OpenAI's 100,000 figure is cumulative.

Pricing, cost-per-click, conversion and return figures published by advertisers, agencies and partners were excluded from this report. All figures are in US dollars where money is mentioned. ChatGPT is the only platform covered.

Sources

  1. Top GEO Agencies, ChatGPT Advertiser Tracker: 63 publicly confirmed ChatGPT advertisers in 8 countries, with category, market, first reported date and route onto the platform, February 9 to October 22, 2026, compiled October 2026.
  2. CNBC, "OpenAI ads pilot tops $100 million in annualized revenue in under 2 months," March 26, 2026
  3. PPC Land, "Over 1,000 brands now live on ChatGPT ads via Criteo," May 6, 2026 (on Criteo's May 5 update)
  4. Criteo, "An Update on Criteo's Integration with OpenAI," June 22, 2026
  5. MarTech, "ChatGPT has plenty of advertisers, but not much revenue," Oct. 21, 2026 (citing New Street Research)
  6. OpenAI, "Expanding access to AI with ChatGPT Ads," Aug. 31, 2026
  7. OpenAI, "ChatGPT Ads expands to 26 new countries as over 100,000 advertisers have used the platform," Oct. 21, 2026
  8. MediaPost, "OpenAI Begins Testing ChatGPT Ads With Omnicom, WPP, Others," Feb. 9, 2026
  9. The Verge, "Here are the brands bringing ads to ChatGPT," Feb. 11, 2026
  10. Target, "Target and Roundel Test Advertising in ChatGPT" (fact sheet), Feb. 9, 2026
  11. MediaPost, "Marketers Starting To Identify First ChatGPT Ads," Feb. 18, 2026
  12. WPP Media Germany, "First Mover im KI-Zeitalter: WPP Media setzt erste ChatGPT-Ads-Kampagnen mit deutschen Werbekunden um," Oct. 21, 2026
  13. Albertsons Companies, "Albertsons Companies Announces Participation in OpenAI Advertising Pilot Program," Feb. 12, 2026
  14. ADWEEK, "Best Buy, Expedia, Enterprise Mobility Are Among the First Brands Spotted Running Ads on ChatGPT," Feb. 19, 2026
  15. OpenAI, "Reimagining advertising with AI," Sept. 16, 2026
  16. OpenAI, ChatGPT Ads customer stories (Newegg, Stream, Jotform, LegalNature, Angi, Talkpal), accessed Oct. 22, 2026
  17. Amazon Ads, "Amazon Ads announces new integration with ChatGPT," Sept. 10, 2026
  18. Angi, announcement of its ChatGPT Sponsored Agents pilot, Sept. 2026
  19. AI Weekly, "OpenAI Pilots Sponsored Agents in ChatGPT With Wayfair, Angi," Sept. 16, 2026
  20. AdNews, "Media agencies kick the tyres as ChatGPT ads land in Australia," April 22, 2026
  21. Dentsu UK, news release on its selection as a UK launch partner for OpenAI Ads, June 5, 2026
  22. Nikkei xTrend, case study on early ChatGPT advertisers in Japan, June 30, 2026
  23. Cosmo5, "Cosmo5 joins OpenAI's agency partner network to support the launch of ChatGPT Ads in Europe" (press release), Aug. 24, 2026
  24. Storyboard18, "Honasa's Mamaearth becomes first Indian brand to advertise on ChatGPT through Criteo," Sept. 1, 2026
  25. Social Samosa, "Who's on ChatGPT Ads? Tanishq, Mamaearth, WPP, Razorpay and more," Oct. 6, 2026
  26. ADWEEK, "ChatGPT Gets Ads: Omnicom, WPP, and Dentsu Line Up Brands for OpenAI Pilot," Feb. 2026
  27. OpenAI, "New ways to buy ChatGPT ads," May 5, 2026
  28. Digiday, "OpenAI's ads business hits Europe at the six month mark," Aug. 19, 2026
  29. Marketing Dive, "OpenAI solidifies ad platform ambitions with ChatGPT Ads Manager," May 11, 2026
  30. The Next Web, "ChatGPT ads reach 89 countries as OpenAI passes 100,000 advertisers," Oct. 21, 2026
  31. Reuters via Investing.com, "OpenAI expands ChatGPT ads to 26 more countries in bid to boost revenue," Oct. 21, 2026
  32. Out of the Box Advisors, blog post on its ChatGPT ad campaigns for a small business, 2026
  33. IndoorMedia, blog post on its ChatGPT ad tests through StackAdapt, Sept. 2026
  34. Totem, "ChatGPT Ads Case Study, New York Law Firm," 2026
  35. Central States Marketing (@CentralStates) on X, Oct. 8, 2026
  36. TheeDigital (@TheeDigital) on X, Aug. 13, 2026
  37. Shopify Community, thread on running ChatGPT ads for Shopify stores, reply of Oct. 15, 2026
  38. SE Ranking (@SERanking) on X, Sept. 17, 2026
  39. Latin Launch (@LatinLaunch) on X, Aug. 12, 2026
  40. Bamboo PR, insights post on its ChatGPT ads test, 2026
  41. Karolis Stasiulevicius, CEO of ScrapingBee (@staskarolis), on X, Sept. 29, 2026
  42. Grafista, blog post on running ChatGPT ads, 2026
  43. GPT Ad Library (Stay Whizzy Inc.), "Which Brands Advertise on ChatGPT," US capture Oct. 3 to 4, 2026, updated Oct. 17, 2026; brand pages accessed Oct. 22, 2026
  44. GPT Ad Library (Stay Whizzy Inc.), "ChatGPT ads by industry," US capture Oct. 3 to 4, 2026
  45. GPT Ad Library, "ChatGPT ads timeline," accessed Oct. 22, 2026
  46. ChatGPT Ad Library, advertiser and niche counts, accessed Oct. 22, 2026